(Photo by Bart Snow)
The Powder House
on Green Street, then known as Ferry Road, was built in 1755 to provide storage for muskets and ammunition. One of only three pre-Revolutionary powder houses in the country still standing, Marblehead's is a unique circular structure built out of brick. It was used for powder storage during the French and Indian War, the Revolutionary War and the War of 1812.